What’s your morning skin care look like?

How many steps are in your morning skin care routine?

I keep seeing the 12+ step Korean skincare routine talked about and more recently Kim Kardashian’s 6 step routine.

Those sound like lengthy routines but they’re not any different from my routine which has multiple steps yet takes under 15 minutes from the moment I turn off the shower. Kim K’s 6 is not a lot at all. If you’re someone who washes your face, applies moisturizer and sunscreen, you’ve got 3 steps right there.

My process can be boiled down to: cleanse, steam, acid, tone, soothe, hydrate, moisturize, moisturize some more and protect. Sometimes it’s longer because I’ll add in: treat/medicine, other serums, extra oils and stuff. I use eye cream but I didn’t list it as its own step because I’ve used my hydrating step in place of an eye cream lately even though I should be using both. I did apply my eye cream this morning.

img_20161014_2115165_rewind_kindlephoto-7431962

Some of my favorite products from my morning routine.

My steps

Cleanse: In the morning I cleanse for about 30 seconds or less in the shower. I don’t time it but it seems to take that long at most. I thoroughly rinse with cool water.

Steam: I run a washcloth under hot water and then hold it over my skin until it cools then I drench it and do it again. I usually steam between 1 and 3 times in a row. It takes no more than 30 seconds total.

Acid: I apply some type of acid (like glycolic) to my skin for a gentle exfoliation to help prevent blemishes as well as prep my skin to absorb more of the products I use in the rest of the steps. The acid I’m using has a nice low pH but I tone anyway.

Tone: By tone I simply mean balance my skin’s pH. I spritz my face with alcohol-free, pH adjusting toner and then gently wipe with a cotton round or pour toner on a cotton round and apply. Very quick and easy.

Hydrate: While my skin is damp from the toner I apply a vitamin C and hyaluronic acid essence to hydrate and it further hydrates by locking in the water from my toner.

Soothe: Sometimes I do this step before hydrating, sometimes immediately after, but what it is is I apply a calming anti-redness serum to my face. The one that I have been using since May is a light, lotion-like product and not a typical serum in texture.

Now is when I’d apply that eye cream.

Moisturize: I apply oil. I used to use a dropper to apply it in 4 sections then rub it in but now I pour it into my hands and then press it onto my skin.

Moisturize Some More: I let the oil absorb a little then I moisturize some more. I use a dime-size or less dab of creamy moisturizer and apply to my face in upward motions. 

Protect: I let my moisturizer sink in and then I apply my zinc based sunscreen.

I finish my routine with lip balm.

After my sunscreen feels fully absorbed and set I move on to doing my makeup if I’m gonna wear it.

Everything I used this morning in this routine retails at approximately $230 but through the magic of coupons, point redemption, and other deals and tricks I think I spent around $107. Not too shabby! 

img_20161014_2116282_rewind_kindlephoto-7342243

A handful of my nighttime skin care routine products. Not featured: about 30 million products

My nighttime and weekend skincare routines are another story.

I am kinda obsessed with skincare and I would love to hear what you do, your favorite products (or ingredients you avoid), any products you’re dying to try and anything you wanna share.

7 comments

  1. badmum74 · October 16, 2016

    One you have such a good routine. And hats off at the discounts, that’s massive.

    I should be doing more at my age but it’s basically cleanse and moisturise, the latter having built in sunscreen, and a night cream when I remember. I actually love night creams because they feel so much richer and somehow softer, plus they smell good. I’ve steered more towards learning how to apply makeup to look better rather than starting with good skin which is a bit stupid. Plus I don’t drink anywhere near enough water for hydration.

    Like

    • redfoxinafield · October 17, 2016

      Honestly my routine needs a little work but I can only do so much at once because I have sensitive skin. Dare I say maybe you have nice skin and you don’t need to do as much as me? Maybe you do just have excellent make up skills but in your photos it appears as though you have very even toned and smooth pretty skin. I envy that. For my skin to look nice it requires so much work but luckily I enjoy it. I have extremely fussy skin and I always have (since I was 11/12) so that’s why I try to take care of it but I know people with really nice looking skin who don’t do much to it and it seems to work for them. I have read about people (always socialite types), Kim K is one of them, that don’t cleanse their face in the morning and instead they just use some type of floral water or wipe or apply some kind of mixture of oil and leave it on and that seems to work for them and then I’ve heard that Kate Moss only splashes her face with water and that’s it (Pfft, of course she does, she’s Kate Moss!). But I have to admit I’m a bit frightened by my friends who use regular bar soap and that’s it. I’m with you, night creams just feel so good and pampering. I’m always on the lookout for sensitive skin friendly night creams. The current one that I love and have been using about a year is by Lumene and it is so thick and creamy and soft. I also have a tiny tiny little sample pot of La Mer cream which is like a damn nugget of gold. I’ve had it for almost 5 months and barely use it because when will I ever have La Mer again! I need to just use it. Do you have any favorites?
      Thanks for talking skincare with me!

      Liked by 1 person

      • badmum74 · October 17, 2016

        Lol at Kate Moss: of course!!!
        No I don’t have great skin, tends to be a bit reddish and definitely not clear. I’ve always thought I’d get some good skin care routine sorted and I don’t know what I’m waiting for really. And yes, LaMer does soom to be the holy grail of skin care. I don’t think I have a favourite, I tend to use different ones all the time and the last few have been targeted at ageing.
        The photos is all filters, trust me.

        Unedited and no makeup is a different story!

        Like

        • redfoxinafield · October 17, 2016

          So typical of Kate Moss. She puts on perfume before she gets in bed too so I started doing that as soon as I read that and I love it. I’m not even kidding.
          Skincare stuff just gets so complicated and the science behind it seems to always be changing but I find it really fascinating to read about but it can get overwhelming to try to figure out what to get and what really works and what doesn’t and what stuff is just marketing BS and stuff like that. There are a lot of online magazines that I love because of their beauty stuff but I even catch errors in their articles sometimes with outdated skincare tips or inaccurate information so I don’t know… I just investigate the crap out of all the options and hope for the best with what I’ve chosen to use. Luckily I’ve seen drastic differences with some of the products and others I just crossed my fingers that they are doing *something* as they claim.
          Well you fooled me, whether it is the filters or the makeup up you still look like you have nice skin and I seem to remember you recently posting a right-in-the-morning photo and your skin looked great.😃 But makeup is so much fun too, as you know because you are a lipstick queen.

          Liked by 1 person

          • badmum74 · October 17, 2016

            Perfume before bed. Genius.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Amy · October 16, 2016

    NKOTB made my day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment